Wolf Alice win the 2018 Hyundai Mercury Prize


Wolf Alice were announced as the winners of the Hyundai Mercury Prize last night, beating Lily Allen, Arctic Monkeys and King Krule.

The band scooped the winner’s trophy and £25,000 cheque for ‘Visions of a Life’ to a standing ovation from the audience.

Standout performances on the night came from Jorja Smith, who sang a beautiful rendition of ‘Blue Lights’, Novelist with ‘Nov Wait Stop Wait’, and Nadine Shah with ‘Out The Way’.

Lily Allen tweeted ‘Someone call 999 I’ve been robbed’, before expressing her admiration for the winning band.

The full list of nominees:

Arctic Monkeys – Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino
Everything Everything – A Fever Dream
Everything is Recorded – Everything is Recorded
Florence + The Machine – High as Hope
Jorja Smith – Lost & Found
King Krule – The Ooz
Lily Allen – No Shame
Nadine Shah – Holiday Destination
Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – Who Built the Moon?
Novelist – Novelist Guy
Sons of Kemet – Your Queen is a Reptile
Wolf Alice – Visions of a Life

Submit your music Close