Trevor Jackson adds to the 80s industrial, post-punk and EBM compilation pile

Output recordings boss Jackson veers towards the weird and sexy on 'Metal Dance', featuring Nitzer Ebb, DAF, Cab Volt etc.


Words by: Charlie Jones

London based august DJ Trevor Jackson, from his earliest sets to the content of his label Output Recordings (listen to the great compilation ‘I Hate Music’ if you’re new to this) has always favoured the weird, sexier, darker, punkier ends of dance music.

Now, Strut has given him a chance to delve into his industrial heartland with ‘Metal Dance’, a double CD / LP compilation out on the 20th February 2012 It features a nice mix of classics, or at least bands you may feasibly have heard of, like Cabaret Voltaire, Nitzer Ebb, Jah Wobble and DAF, alongside bands you probably haven’t heard come across yet.

CD 1
1. The Bubblemen – The Bubblemen Are Coming
2. 400 Blows – Pressure (Club Pressure)
3. Cabaret Voltaire – Seconds Too Late
4. Neon – Voices
5. Pete Shelley – Witness The Change (Dub version)
6. Executive Slacks – The Bus (EP version)
7. Analysis – Surface Tension
8. Nitzer Ebb – Control I’m Here (Clouston’s Controlled Edit)
9. DAF – Brothers (Mix Gabi)
10. Portion Control – The Great Divide (Dub)
11. Stanton Miranda – Wheels Over Indian Trails (Dub)
12. Jah Wobble – Invaders Of The Heart (Exotic Decadent Disco mix)
13. SPK – Metal Dance
14. Fini Tribe – De Testimony (Collapsing Edit)

CD 2
1. Alien Sex Fiend – Under The Thunder (Ignore The Dub)
2. Einsturzende Neubauten – Yü-Gung (Adrian Sherwood mix)
3. Mark Stewart – Fatal Attraction (Contagious)
4. Hard Corps – Je Suis Passee (Dub)
5. Naked Lunch – Slipping Again
6. Secession – Touch (Part 4)
7. The Cage feat. Nona Hendryx – Do What Ya Wanna Do (Dub version)
8. Yello – You Gotta Say Yes To Another Excess (UK promo mix)
9. John Carpenter & Alan Howarth – The Duke Arrives – The Barricade / The President At The Train (Extended version)
10. Ledernacken – Amok!
11. Severed Heads – Dead Eyes Opened
12. Honey Bane – Guilty Dub
13. Diseño Corbusier – Golpe De Amistad

Submit your music Close