Trent Reznor reveals full details of brutal Girl With Dragon Tattoo soundtrack

The full tracklist has been released of Reznor's soundtrack, the follow-up to his last Fincher-score, The Social network.


Words by: Charlie Jones

On December 21st, David – The Social Network, Se7en, Fight Club – Fincher’s Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, starring Daniel Craig, will hit cinemas. Exciting news for fans of brutal blockbuster books certain to be brutal blockbuster films, but the reason this story is on a music website is that the soundtrack is by Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails, and already sounds great, thanks to a six-track sampler, available from Reznor’s label website. The widget seems to be experiencing technical difficulties at present [9.15am BST], but should be better later, they’re dreadfully clever these American internet types.

That the sampler is six tracks gives you some idea of the scale of the soundtrack – spanning nearly 40 songs, it features Led Zeppelin and Brian Ferry covers, vocal work from Karen O and is the result of extensive collaboration with English composer Atticus Ross. Reznor wrote, “We laughed, we cried, we lost our minds and in the process made some of the most beautiful and disturbing music of our careers. The result is a sprawling three-hour opus.” The first track is played on the trailer below.

Regular and HD digital downloads will be released on December 9th, with a triple CD released December 27. The deluxe edition is on sale in February, featuring six LPs, a book, a fold-out poster, and a USB drive, signed by Reznor and Ross in the shape of a razor blade. It’s self-released by Reznor in the States, with Mute handling worldwide.

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo tracklist
01 Immigrant Song (Led Zeppelin cover) [ft. Karen O]
02 She Reminds Me of You
03 People Lie All the Time
04 Pinned and Mounted
05 Perihelion
06 What If We Could?
07 With The Flies
08 Hidden in Snow
09 A Thousand Details
10 One Particular Moment
11 I Can’t Take It Anymore
12 How Brittle the Bones
13 Please Take Your Hand Away
14 Cut Into Pieces
15 The Splinter
16 An Itch
17 Hypomania
18 Under the Midnight Sun
19 Aphelion
20 You’re Here
21 The Same as the Others
22 A Pause for Reflection
23 While Waiting
24 The Seconds Drag
25 Later Into the Night
26 Parallel Timeline With Alternate Outcome
27 Another Way of Caring
28 A Viable Construct
29 Revealed in the Thaw
30 Millennia
31 We Could Wait Forever
32 Oraculum
33 Great Bird of Prey
34 The Heretics
35 A Pair of Doves
36 Infiltrator
37 The Sound of Forgetting
38 Of Secrets
39 Is Your Love Strong Enough? [Bryan Ferry cover]

Submit your music Close