Rustie’s Summer 2011 mix

Scottish producer sounds like he's bouncing off the walls.


Words by: Charlie Jones

Rustie’s got his album ‘Glass Swords’ coming out on Warp next month, and it’s a playful work that hits the skewed pop spot well.

The Scottish producer has put together a summer mix for the website of National Public Radio, and with tracks from Hudson Mohawke, Jacques Greene, Lone and a few of Rustie’s own from his forthcoming album, it’s pretty essential. It’s a mix overspilling with mischevious energy, tracks sounding like they’re elbowing each other out the way in the clamour to be heard, those thick and colourful synths bursting all over. Rustie sounds like he’s bouncing off the walls, and it’s the kind of listen that’ll have you feeling revitalized in moments.

Listen here over at NPR.

1. Rustie, “Flash Back”
2. Krystal Klear, “Clove Dagger”
3. Jacques Greene, “I Like You”
4. Nightwave, “Festivus”
5. Zed Bias, “Trouble in the Streets” (feat. Mark Pritchard)
6. Mele, “Mugged”
7. Rustie, “Hover Traps”
8. Skream, “Where You Should Be” (Seiji Remix)
9. Hudson Mohawke, “Foxy Boxing”
10. Turboshinboy, “Sparks”
11. Rustie, “4eva”
12. Joker, “On My Mind” (Rustie Remix)
12. Rustie, “Ultra Thizz”
13. Machinedrum, “LoveKing” (Machinedrum Edit)
14. Harvey Kartel, “Say Yes”
15. Lone, “Crystal Caverns”
16. Hudson Mohawke, “Thank You”
17. Joker, “Trancey”
18. Kavsrave, “Your Love”
19. Preditah, “New York”
20. Rustie,“All Nite”

Warp will release Rustie’s debut album ‘Glass Swords’ on 10th October 2011

Submit your music Close