New albums from Antony & The Johnsons, The-Dream and Cooly G announced

Today saw new albums announced from one of hip hop's finest, the Mercury winning singer and the debut full length from the Hyperdub producer.


Words by: Charlie Jones

The-Dream (or Terius Nash) is releasing new album ‘Love IV MMXII’, the follow up to the 1977 tape he put out last year. The already much delayed album now has a fixed release date of August 14th, and will be coming out on Def Jam. No full tracklist as yet, but apparently the previously released ROC and Kill The Lights (below) have made the cut.

As well as running the Southbank Centre, Antony Hegarty is releasing an album with his Johnsons called ‘Cut The World’ on 6th August 2012. Recorded with excellent modern classical composer Nico Muhly in Denmark, as promo, there’s a stream of a lecture he gave at one of his recent concerts on “future feminism”.

In other album news, Cooly G, the London producer who has been important in drawing the dots between house and funky, and has released on Hyperdub and DVA Music, as well as her own Dub Organizer series, is releasing her debut full length album on Hyperdub this summer. Titled ‘Playin’ Me’, it will be out on July 17th. It includes Trouble, which apparently is a cover of the Coldplay song of the same name. Thanks to Resident Advisor for bringing this to our attention.

Cooly G – ‘Playin’ Me’ tracklist:
01. He Said I Said
02. What This World Needs Now
03. Come Into My Room
04. Landscapes feat. Sinbad
05. Good Times
06. Sunshine
07. Trying
08. Playin Me
09. Trouble
10. What Airtime
11. It’s Serious feat. Karizma
12. Is It Gone
13. Up in My Head

Def Jam will release The-Dream’s ‘Love IV MMXII’ on 14th August 2012. Hyperdub will release Cooly G’s ‘Playin’ Me’ on 17th July 2012