Konx-om-Pax announces new album featuring Laurel Halo and Stuart Braithwaite

Listen to one of the tracks from his 'Light in Extension' LP, out on Display Copy on 7th Feb.


Words by: Ruth Saxelby

Konx-om-Pax, aka Tom Scholefield, will release his debut long player ‘Light In Extension’ on February 7th. Echoing the origins of his otherworldly moniker, it’s one to get lost in late at night – a beautifully trippy soundscape that’s evocative of abandoned spaceships forever transmitting unanswered signals into the cosmos.

Fellow Glaswegian Stuart Braithwaite (Mogwai) and Laurel Halo (download her Dummy Mix here) both feature on opener Halo Ritual (listen below). On working with both, he says over email: “Dan (Oneohtrix Point Never) hooked us up for me to do some art for Laurel’s record on Hippos In Tanks. I hung with them in NY and we recorded some jams! Known Stuart for a while (Glasgow is a small place) – been working with Rockaction for years and I’m gonna be tour DJ for Mogwai in Feb!” (Download Dummy Mix 34 // Konx-om-Pax here.)

It’s the first of three albums he’ll release on his own label Display Copy this year, each in limited runs of 200 with handmade artwork by himself (check out our gallery of Tom’s art here) and Edwin Pickstone. “It’s a collection of new and archived stuff that I made years ago,” he explains. “There’s no big master plan. It just felt right to start releasing the music I’ve been making for years but having full creative control of each release.”

Konx-om-Pax – Halo Ritual (with Stuart Braithwaite and Laurel Halo) by All Tomorrows Parties

Konx-om-Pax ‘Light in Extension’ (Display Copy)

1. Halo Ritual
2. 7th Dimension
3. Chevy Chase Mega Looper
4. Why Aren’t You Here
5. Nevermind…
6. Slow Down Sequ6trk
7. Room With A View
8. Total Protonic Reversal

Order ‘Light In Extension’ from Display Copy. Catch Konx-om-Pax supporting Mogwai in London, Birmingham and Manchester (full info here) at the end of February.