Floating Points announces debut album ‘Elaenia’

Sam Shepherd will release his first full-length on his own imprint Pluto.


Words by: Natalie /

Floating Points has announced the release of his debut album 'Elaenia'.

Sam Shepherd will release his first full-length on November 6th through his own label/imprint Pluto. In previewing the seven-track release, an edit of Silhouettes (I, II, III) – an eleven-minute album track – has been shared as the album's lead single. 

It’s no surprise to hear Shepherd returning and experimenting with his orchestral range, given that he's classically trained and a noted jazz enthusiast. But, with Silhouettes, Shepherd provides an astral landscape alongside a symphony of sweeping emotive strings and fusion jazz-funk melodies that suggest Stravinsky more than house and bass. Even if he's widely known for his sharpness on the decks, Shepherd's M.O. is to be as maximal in every genre he expresses himself in – which Silhouettes does luxuriously. 

Listen to Silhouettes above.

Update (08/27): The full version of Silhouettes can now be heard in full, after a premiere by Benji B last night (08/26).

'Elaenia' tracklist:

01. Nespole
02. Silhouettes (I, II, III)
03. Elaenia
04. Argenté
05. Thin Air
06. For Marmish
07. Peroration Six

'Elaenia' is out on November 6th through Pluto (pre-order).

Submit your music Close