Crystal & Ikonika – Dream Incubation

Fantasy pairing of Japanese band and London producer for Sound Pellegrino's Crossover Series.


French dance label Sound Pellegrino have a history of bringing together producers from across the globe for wonderful collaborations as part of their Crossover Series. In the past we've had the unlikely pairing of Bok Bok and Tom Trago, Surkin and Todd Edwards, and Joakim and Bambounou, and their latest is the combination of Japanese group Crystal and brillo London producer Ikonika.

Taken from Sound Pellegrino's forthcoming 'SND.PE Vol. 02: Crossover Series', Crystal and Ikonika's Dream Incubation sounds every bit the combination of the two artists, with Ikonika's melodies and 'Aerotropolis' rhythms a sure match for Crystal's electro.

Writing on Soundcloud, label boss Teki Latex describes the reason for bringing the two artists together: "Crystal’s mixture of YMO-esque Nippon naive pop and Kraftwerkian-influenced beats tends to accidentally give birth to a romantic sound very reminiscent of Latin Freestyle. On the other hand, Latin freestyle, pop and that particular brand of ‘80s pre-Miami bass is an influence more and more present in UK producer Ikonika’s work. In other words we saw freestyle as a common bond, a contextual bridge between two production units from two very different places and scenes." The result, he concludes, is "100% retro-futuro-Italo-piano-shoot’em-up melancholy."

Read our track-by-track guide to Sound Pellegrino's 'SND PE Vol. 1' here. Check the full tracklist of the new compilation below:


01. Matthias Zimmermann & SCNTST – Tommy
02. Crystal & Ikonika – Dream Incubation
03. Eero Johannes & Teki Latex – Things That I Do
04. Crackboy & Jean Nipon – Ligne Onze
05. Dexter & Gant-Man – Ur Booty Soft
06. L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke – The Pit
07. Feadz & Orgasmic – Throw It Up
08. Nicolas Malinowsky & Tommy Kruise – Disstopia
09. Truncate & TWR72 – Frame
10. Helix & Hrdvsion – Gmail

Sound Pellegrino will release 'SND.PE Vol. 02: Crossover Series' on January 27th 2014.

[via FACT]

Submit your music Close