Leon Vynehall announces ‘Rare, Forever’ LP: hear ‘Mothra’ and ‘Ecce! Ego!’

The album is "about my own psyche," Vynehall says

10.02.21, Words by: Felicity Martin

Leon Vynehall has announced forthcoming album ‘Rare, Forever’, set for release on 30th April via Ninja Tune.

The announcement of the follow-up to 2018 debut album ‘Nothing Is Still’ comes with two new tracks: ‘Mothra’ and ‘Ecce! Ego!’ alongside visuals by Eric Timothy Carlson and Aaron Anderson.

Of the former cut, Vynehall says: “Mothra is the euphoric unfurling of ‘something’. Muted notes fluttering free before returning to the cascade we arrived from, only now with purpose.”

While of ‘Ecce! Ego!’, he says: “The tracks’ title literally translates from Latin to ‘Behold! Me!’ A fitting introduction to an album about my own psyche, I thought. It starts off where Nothing Is Still left off, but rapidly switches to something more fluid, perhaps even sinister. I kind of think of this song as ‘Envelopes (Chapter VI)”s fucked up cousin.”

Listen to both tracks below.


Submit your music Close