Soma Records have uncovered a tape of an unreleased Daft Punk song

The 1994 track will be released as part of an upcoming compilation album from the record company.


Words by: Charlie Jones

During the process of sifting through artefacts of the early days of Soma Records at the end of last year, a cassette was uncovered labelled “Daft Drive”. It turned out that this dusty relic contained the early demo of a track called Drive by French duo Daft Punk , recorded way back in 1994, before their debut Homework shot them to success.

Chris Lamb describes the moment the record bosses realised what they were listening to: “After standing in awed silence, witnessing this moment, the track faded off and we heard the sounds of French words that the recording had been made over; the remnants of their [Daft Punk’s] parents audio collection. The tape had originally been sent with Rollin’ and Scratchin’ to be released as Soma25 but Soma asked these two bright-eyed and techno-bound Frenchmen, to finish and send Da Funk instead and DRIVE was shelved for a later date.”

The track is now due to be released as part of a compilation album, Soma Records – 20 Years , which will contain plenty of previously unheard sessions and remixes from the label. You can take a peek at the tracklist below, and pre-order the album here .


01. Daft Punk – Drive unreleased 1994
02. Scott Grooves (feat. Parliament/Funkadelic) – Mothership Reconnection (Daft Punk Remix)
03. Silicone Soul – Right On, Right On
04. Slam – Azure (Part 1)
05. Funk D’Void – Diabla (Heavenly Mix)
06. Slam – Positive Education
07. The Black Dog – Cost II
08. Samuel L Session – Can You Relate (Joris Voorn Flooding The Market with Remixes)
09. Percy X – X-Trak 1
10. Desert Storm – Desert Storm
11. Slam – Eterna

01. Slam – Groovelock (Deepchord Atmospheric Rebuild)
02. Eastmen – U Dig (Loco Dice Remix)
03. H-Foundation – Slayin’ the Dragon (Klartraum Remix)
04. Hatikvah – In the Spirit (Rod Modell | Deepchord Vector and Velocity Mix)
05. Slam – Human (Oxia Remix)
06. Silicone Soul – Right On, Right On (Nick Curly Remix)
07. Pablo – Turn the Page (Alex Under Remix)
08. Vector Lovers – Computrfnk (Sebrok’s Funk You Remix)
09. Itamar Sagi – One Million Oaks (Mark Broom Remix)
10. H-Foundation – Passage of Time (D1Julz Remix)
11. Master H – Magic K (Paul Ritch 31 Trudaine Mix)
12. Silicone Soul – 3am (Maetrik Jazzersize Mix)
13. Slam – Lifetimes (Pan-Pot Bass Times Mix)
14. Slam – Stepback (Mark Henning Remix)
15. Slam – Positive Education (Zero T Remix)
16. Slam – Stepback (Adam Beyer & Jesper Dahlback Remix
17. Tony Thomas – Beginnings (Gary Beck Remix)
18. Funk D’Void – Diabla (Christian Smith and Wehbba Remix)
19. Funk D’Void – Diabla (Joash Remix)

01. [Intro] Percy X Vs Bloodsugar – -3 (Emissons 2) / Scott Grooves feat. Roy Ayers – Expansions (Vocal)
02. Counterplan – 90 Degrees (DJ Q Mix) / Scott Grooves (feat. Parliament / Funkadelic) – Mothership Reconnection (Vocal)
03. Otaku – Percussion Obsession
04. Chaser – Destination Unknown
05. Mark Henning – Last Night
06. Alex Smoke – Chica Wappa
07. Desert Storm – Scoraig ‘93
08. Schatrax – Mispent years (Silicone Soul’s Darkroom Dub) / Hatikvah – In The Spirit (Vocal)
09. Rejuvination – Requiem
10. Slam – Positive Education
11. Universal Principles – Inspiration & Light (Vocal)
12. Slam – This world (Wighnomy Bros. & Robag Wruhme Dub) / Silicone Soul – The Snake Charmer Edit (Vocal)
13. Funk D’ Void – Diabla (Heavenly Edit)
14. Silicone Soul – Chic-O-Laa (H-Foundation Remix)
15. Eastmen – U Dig (Vocal)
16. Silicone Soul – Right On, Right On (Original Mix)
17. [Outro] Hatikvah – Daedalus / H-Foundation feat. Aion – Tonight (Vocal) [Until The Sun Edit]

Soma Records will release ‘Soma Records – 20 Years’ on the 19th September 2011.

Submit your music Close