Jaakko Eino Kalevi – Speak Out

Helsinki psychedelic funk dude shares an ice cool cut from his new EP for Beats in Space.


Helsinki's Jaakko Eino Kalevi made a seriously, seriously good EP last year called 'Dreamzone' – writing just a week ago in our Field Day preview, we described it as "four tracks of tight, groove-led psychedelia sounding like Ariel Pink produced by James Murphy." The comparison seems even more apt listening to Kalevi's new song, Speak Out, which tightens and elongates the grooves, resulting in a song that sounds like something that could've from the DFA production house. This makes sense to an extent, admittedly – it's coming out on Beats In Space records, the label established by BiS radio host (and DFA affiliate) Tim Sweeney.

Either way, Speak Out is ice cool, so we're looking forward to hearing the entire EP that it's plucked from. It's titled the 'Yin Yang Theatre' EP, the name apparently being a reference to a time when Kalevi was "feeling bad about something" and spoke out against it… before immediately regretting it and deciding that life is a combination of "confontation and patience", or Yin and Yang. Er, okay.

A press release also informs us that Jaakko Eino Kalevi will release a debut album through Domino/Weird World later this year (longterm fans will be bemused by this, as he's already released tonnes of albums, albeit in an unofficial capacity). Colour us excited.

Jaakko Eino Kalevi 'Yin Yang Theatre' tracklist:

01. Speak Out 
02. Pass The Cat 
03. Sensaatio 
04. Tecno Souvlaki 
05. Let The Energy Be Your Teacher (Part 1) 
06. XO-tic Grlz

Live dates:

June 30th: Roskilde Festival, Denmark

July 10th: Traena Festival, Norway

August 2nd: Visions Festival, London
August 10th: Flow Festival, Finland
August 17th-20th: Reeperbahn Festival, Germany

September 5th-9th: Iceland Airwaves, Iceland

Beats In Space release the 'Yin Yang Theatre' EP on July 8th 2014 (pre-order).

Submit your music Close