RVNG Intl unearth brilliant Italian prog group for massive compilation

New York label RVNG Intl has announced the upcoming release of ‘Music Is Painting In the Air’, a 30+ track compilation of new mixes and unheard music from psychedelic Italian prog group Sensations’ Fix.


Sensations’ Fix are revered as one of the great representations of progressive music, ‘Music Is Painting In The Air’ is an anthology of over 30 tracks of unheard music and mixes from the band’s fruitful output between 1974 and 1977 offering a guide to their nebulous catalogue.

On 2002 album ‘Private Press’, DJ Shadow sampled two Sensations’ Fix songs and more recently Sonic Youth curated a career retrospective called ‘Sensational Fix’ at the Life Gallery in Saint-Nazaire, france. For the compilation, band producer Franco Falsini and his son Jeyson set aside a year in order to journey through and revisit the original Sensations’ Fix analogue tapes. The resulting compilation defies any kind of chronology, enabling the listener to immerse themselves in the spirit of the music as a whole and associate freely with whatever the mind conjures.

‘Music Is Painting In The Air’ is set to be released 24th September on 2xLP, 2xCD and digital formats. Below, stream one of the tracks from the compilation, the glistening Dark Side Of Religion below:

Submit your music Close