Rainer – Nocturn

Very good leftfield pop from the duo's debut album 'Water'.


Rainer are a duo from London who we've been fans of here at Dummy for ages now. They're made up of vocalist and songwriter Rebekah Raa (who some might recognise as the former singer with Stricken City, or perhaps as the female voice on Daniel Avery's Water Jump) and producer Casually Here (who some might know for his remixes, as well as production work with folks like Brolin), and they write leftfield pop songs with a clear and clever lyrical focus.

Rainer released an EP called 'Hope/Satin/Glass/Dreams' a couple of years ago and we've been wondering where they've been since. But today we've heard the good news that they've only gone and put together a whole bloody album and that it'll be out in May.

'Water', as the album is called, was recorded in a studio in Elephant & Castle in South London after their debut EP came out. It features 10 songs dealing with falling in, being in, and falling out of love. And here's a really good new song called Nocturn which, we're informed by the album's press release, sprung "from the bones of an instrumental piece originally written for Drake's second album."

Rainer 'Water' tracklist:

01. Water
02. Nocturn
03. Dear
04. Trouble
05. Melt
06. Skin
07. Leave
08. Laws
09. Marry
10. Raven

Kissability/Algebra release 'Water' on May 18th 2015.