Pinch mixes Fabriclive 61

Bristolian dubstep stalwart Rob Ellis gets on with long-running series for vinyl-only set.


Words by: Charlie Jones

The Fabric mix CD series has another release planned, this time with Bristolian dubstep stalwart Pinch.) He set-up the city’s first dubstep night, Subloaded in 2003, and his major contribution to the sound was the introduction of Basic Channel-style dub techno to dubstep. He has just released a pretty great album with his Bristol minimal dubstep homeboy Shakleton on Honest Jon’s, and this mix CD will be out on the 16th January 2012. His statement is posted below, with the tracklisting underneath, and details about the release

“I am a supporter of the sound of vinyl and the cultural associations I make with this format so it was important to me – even if I do ultimately end up abandoning my beloved format one day – to stick by my guns and record the mix like this. I also made the whole mix start and finish in the same spot – meaning that the entire DJ mix can work as a loop if you put it on repeat. I really like the idea of certain kinds of music existing in its own infinite context and setting up the mix to loop like that was playing entirely into that idea.” – Pinch 2011

01. Distal – Venom (Part 2) [Tectonic]
02. F – Slow Down [7even]
03. EQD – Equalized #005B [Equalized]
04. Henry & Louis feat. Prince Green – Love Like (Pinch Remix) [2 Kings]
05. Pinch & Shackleton – Rooms Within A Room [Honest Jon’s]
06. Deleted Scenes – Natural Law [Deleted Scenes]
07. Pinch & Quest – In Dreams [Tectonic]
08. Boddika & Joy Orbison – Swims [Swamp81]
09. DJ G – Uncertain [Tectonic]
10. Roly Porter – Hessra [Subtext]
11. Photek & Pinch – Acid Reign (Pinch’s Dubplate Version) [Photek Productions]
12. Pinch & Loefah – Broken [Tectonic]
13. Emika – Double Edge (Pinch Remix) [Ninja Tune]
14. Roska – 480 BC [Tectonic]
15. Addison Groove – This Is It VIP [Tectonic]
16. Goth Trad – Mach [Tectonic]
17. Distance – Blue Meanie [Chestplate]
18. Jakes – Get Serious [H.E.N.C.H.]
19. Jakes – A Case Of The Bleeps [H.E.N.C.H.]
20. OM Unit – Pressure [Tectonic]
21. Illum Sphere – Promise A Secret [Tectonic]
22. Distal – Venom (Part 1) [Tectonic]


Kode 9, Pearson Sound, Ben UFO, Pangaea, Icicle (LIVE), Jam City, Kowton
MCs: Chunky, LX One

Pinch, Loefah, Peverelist, 2562, Distance, OM Unit.
MCs: Crazy D, Dread

Fabric will release Pinch’s mix CD Fabriclive.61 on the 16th January 2012

Submit your music Close