Patti Smith is back with new album ‘Banga’

The legendary Chicago rock star pays tribute to Amy Winehouse with a ballad.


Words by: Charlie Jones

Patti Smith has announced full details of her next album which is due to be out on June 5.

Her 11th studio album, entitled Banga, is produced by Smith herself and her band members Tony Shanahan, Jay Dee Daugherty, and Lenny Kaye.

This new new material represents the singer’s comeback since her last 2004’s Trampin; it features twelve tracks and has been recorded in the Electric Lady Studios in New york City.

According to the press release Banga’s lyrics are “a reflection of our complex world – a world that is rife with chaos and beauty.”

The fourth track of Patti’s creation, entitled This Is The Girl, is indeed a classic ballad dedicated to the London-based singer that she wrote with her bass player after Amy died back in July.

Banga features also a birthday song for Johnny Depp called Nine, and a rock track written in memory of the people of Japan after the catastrophic earthquake.

April Fool, the first single from Banga featuring Tom Verlaine, is already available on iTunes.


01 Amerigo
02 Fuji-san
03 April Fool
04 This is the Girl
05 Banga
06 Maria
07 Tarkovsky (The Second Stop is Jupiter)
08 Mosaic
09 Nine
10 Seneca
11 Constantine’s Dream
12 After the Gold Rush

Submit your music Close