patten will release his new album for Warp next month!

The audio collagist will release second album 'ESTOILE NAIANT' on February 24th - stream a new song inside.


Late last year, Warp Records announced super experimental and always innovative musician/producer patten as the latest signing to their roster, putting out a quickfire EP called 'EOLIAN INSTATE' and promising that a full length would arrive in 2014.

What we didn't realise was just how quickly that'd arrive. Due out on February 24th, 'ESTOILE NAIANT' will be patten's second full-length (his debut, 'GLAQJO XAACSSO', was released through No Pain In Pop in 2011) and sees the sonic manipulator making his most intricate compositions yet. A press release describes the album as being equally inspired by Argentinian essayist Jorge Luis Borges, Sonic Youth, pioneering dubstep night FWD>>, and "brand new research in cognitive science". Sign us up!

You can stream a new song, Drift, above. Its video was directed by regular collaborator Jane Eastlight, who was also behind the rest of the album's visual direction, including the sleeve art and, intriguingly, apparel, apparently "extending the characteristics of the music into all avenues of contemporary culture". We're not entirely certain what that means right now, but fingers crossed for a patten/Eastlight fashion line.

Cop the tracklist and some live dates below. patten was the man behind our most recent Dummy Mix, and it's an absolute doozy – stream that here.


01. Gold arc
02. Here always
03. Drift
04. Winter strobing
05. Softer
06. Pathways
07. 23-45
08. Key embedded
09. Agen
10. LL2

​Live dates:

Jan 10th: NYC, Output Panther Room [DJ/re-edit set]
Jan 11th: NYC, Joe's Pub [Live A/V set]
Jan 31st: Barcelona, CaixaForum, Barcelona ES [Live A/V set]
Feb 1st:  Berlin, CTM festival [Live A/V set]

Warp Records will release 'ESTOILE NAIANT' on February 24th 2014.

Submit your music Close