My Panda Shall Fly & Benjamin Jackson – ‘Let’s Vibrate Together’ EP

Exclusively stream the London duo's debut EP on Five Easy Pieces - vibes all round.


Words by: Karen Chan

London label Five Easy Pieces, launched in 2011, continue with their experimental/pop release schedule with their latest ‘Let’s Vibrate Together’ EP from My Panda Shall Fly, aka visual artist Suren Seneviratne, and drummer turned analogue-electro producer Benjamin Jackson – a pair who started recording the bulk of the EP without having even met each other. The result is an immersive and pointillistic record that’s packed with flickering rhythms and cuts, heavy analogue kicks, bright synths, and a whiff of warm, sticky funk – a prominent quality that holds together the label’s other releases, which are delivered by Royalty, Call Super, and Midnight Davis.

Having no real musical background or formal training, Suren Seneviratne has previously released on Wichita and Dam Mantle’s Growing Records. While Benjamin Jackson started off as a drummer and eventually moved towards exploring analogue mediums of sound and art via releases on his own cassette label Thangu.

Chairman Kato and Cloud Boat are in charge of the remix business, while patten’s reinterpretation of Data-Module is digitally available only. All artists will be playing at the ‘Let’s Vibrate Together’ EP launch party, taking place at London’s The Shacklewell Arms on 17th March, with My Panda Shall Fly and patten performing live. More info here.

Five Easy Pieces will release My Panda Shall Fly & Benjamin Jackson’s ‘Let’s Vibrate Together’ EP digitally on the 5th March and on vinyl on the 12th March, 2012

Submit your music Close