Mercury Prize nominations

Aphex Twin and Róisín Murphy are nominated for the first time alongside Jamie xx, Ghostpoet, and Eska.


Words by: Natalie /

Today (Friday, October 16th) The Mercury Prize's 'Album of the Year' nominees were unveiled by Lauren Laverne on BBC 6 Music.

Of the twelve artists nominated, there were firsts for Aphex Twin and Róisín Murphy while debut albums from Wolf Alice, C. Duncan, Slaves, Jamie xx, SOAK, Benjamin Clementine, and Eska were also recognised. Last year's judge Ghostpoet is also acknowledged for 'Shedding Skin' while big hitters Florence + The Machine and Gaz Coombes also on the shortlist.

This year sees the annual award return to the BBC following a couple of years programming with Channel 4. The awards ceremony is scheduled to take place in the Radio Theatre at Broadcasting House in London on Friday 20 November and will, again, be hosted by Lauren Laverne. Transmitting live on BBC Four and 6Music, the evening will culminate in the announcement of the overall winner of the 2015 Mercury Prize in association with BBC Music.

Last year the award was won by Scottish hip-hop group Young Fathers, whose debut album 'Dead' took home the gong after beating competition from FKA Twigs, Jungle, and Royal Blood. 

The nominees for 2015's award are:

1. Aphex Twin – 'Syro'
2. Wolf Alice – 'My Love Is Cool'
3. Róisín Murphy – 'Hairless Toys'
4. C. Duncan – 'Architect'
5. Eska – 'Eska'
6. Florence + The Machine – 'How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful'
7. Ghostpoet – 'Shedding Skin'
8. Benjamin Clementine – 'At Least For Now'
9. Jamie xx – 'In Colour'
10. SOAK – 'Before We Forgot How To Dream'
11. Gaz Coombes – 'Matador'
12. Slaves – 'Are You Satisfied?'