Mercury Music Prize nominations announced

The xx and Foals are our favourites in a shortlist that features Paul Weller, Biffy Clyro and Mumford and Sons.


Words by: Charlie Jones

We owe the bookies a few bob as Four Tet, Caribou and Actress were overlooked this year. The list – which was leaked forty minutes beforehand – was confirmed via 6music, whose representative said that ‘there were no token … artists’, somewhat indelicately.

The full list is

Biffy Clyro ‘Only Revolutions’
Corinne Bailey Rae ‘The Sea’
Dizzee Rascal ‘Tongue N’ Cheek’
Kit Downes Trio ‘Golden’
Foals ‘Total Life Forever’
I Am Kloot ‘Sky At Night’
Laura Marling ‘I Speak Because I Can’
Mumford And Sons ‘Sigh No More’
Paul Weller ‘Wake Up The Nation’
Villagers ‘Becoming A Jackal’
Wild Beasts ‘Two Dancers’
The xx ‘XX’

The winner will be announced on 7 September 2010