Matthew Herbert unveils full details of his first dance album in nine years

'The Shakes' is out via Caroline International on June 1st. Stream new track Middle now.


Matthew Herbert is releasing 'The Shakes', his first new dance record for nine years, on June 1st.

Although Matthew Herbert has made plenty of dance records in his time under the alias 'Herbert', his last full-length in this style was 2006's 'Scale'. Recent albums have taken more of a conceptual focus, using his trademark electro-acoustic sound design experiments and modern musique concrète techniques on albums like 'One Pig' and 'The End of Silence', released under his own name.

Described as a sequel to 2001's 'Bodily Functions', 'The Shakes' features musicians like Dave Okumu (The Invisible), Sam Beste (Hejira), saxophonist Ben Castle, trombonist Alistair White, and Chris Storr on trumpet. Vocalists include Rahel Debebe-Dessalegne (Hejira) and Ade Omotayo (Kindness, Amy Winehouse). There will also be sounds from Herbert's grandfather's piano, a piano from Wormwood Scrubs, some sounds from bullets and shells found on eBay, and an organ from St Jude's church in Hampstead.

The first track from it is called Middle. Herbert will be releasing a new track from the album every week leading up to its release.

To get to grips with Herbert's back catalogue, read Ben UFO's guide to his 10 best productions.

Herbert 'The Shakes' tracklist:

01. Battle
02. Middle
03. Strong
04. Smart
05. Stop
06. Ones
07. Bed
08. Know
09. Safety
10. Silence
11. Warm
12. Peak

Caroline International release 'The Shakes' on June 1st 2015 (pre-order).

Submit your music Close