LCD Soundsystem line up hefty 5 LP boxset of their final gig

James Murphy and co. document their grand finale in a big boxset for Record Store Day.


James Murphy might be best known as the genius behind musical subway turnstiles, but once upon a time he was in some dorky nerd band for losers called LCD Soundsystem. LCD Soundsystem called it quits a few years ago, going out with a bang with a four-hour-long grand finale at New York's Madison Square Garden back in April 2011.

Now, that concert is getting a physical release. Well, you could get it physically before – the DVD version of 'Shut Up And Play The Hits' contains a film of the whole show – but this is the first time it's been available in audio, and it's been mixed exclusively for stereos rather than televisions by James Murphy himself.

Titled 'The Long Goodbye', the release will be issued on a five(!) LP vinyl on Record Store Day (April 19th), followed by a wider release (including digital download) in May. You can watch a live performance of Losing My Edge from the show above.

It's an incredible show, and should go down as a live album classic in a 'The Name Of This Band Is Talking Heads' kind of way. Check the tracklist and artwork below.


01. Dance Yrself Clean
02. Drunk Girls
03. I Can Change
04. Time To Get Away
05. Get Innocuous!
06. Daft Punk Is Playing At My House
07. Too Much Love
08. All My Friends
09. Tired / Heart Of The Sunrise
10. 45:33 Intro
11. You Can't Hide (Shame On You)
12. Sound Of Silver
13. Out In Space
14. Ships Talking
15. Freak Out / Starry Eyes
16. Us v Them
17. North American Scum
18. Bye Bye Bayou
19. You Wanted A Hit
20. Tribulations
21. Movement
22. Yeah
23. Someone Great
24. Losing My Edge
25. Home
26. All I Want
27. Jump Into The Fire
28. New York, I Love You But You're Bringing Me Down

Parlophone release 'The Long Goodbye: LCD Soundsystem Live At Madison Square Garden' on April 19th 2014 (Record Store Day) followed by a wider release on May 19th 2014.

Submit your music Close