Lapalux announces new album ‘Lustmore’


Lapalux follows up 2013's 'Nostalchic' with 'Lustmore', a new album for Flying Lotus's Brainfeeder label.

Real name Stuart Howard, Lapalux is a woozy, melodic beatmaker. 'Lustmore', his second album, is informed loosely by hypnogogia – the transitional state between consciousness and sleep, where thoughts get all weird and skewy. According to a press release, it sees Lapalux adopting a "retro-futuristic" sound a la films like Blade Runner and 2001: A Space Odyssey, inspired by old film soundtracks and taking on a visual experience.

"Whenever I think about the album I think about the bar scene in The Shining," Howard says, "There’s something about that strange, hallucinatory psychological madness that relates to the music, both in the making of the actual record and the way it sounds."

The album features collaborations with two British vocalists, Andreya Triana and Szjerdene. Closure, Lapalux's collaboration with the latter singer, is streaming now.

Lapalux 'Lustmore' tracklist:

01. U Never Know (feat. Andreya Triana)
02. Sum Body
03. Closure (feat. Szjerdene)
04. Midnight Peelers
05. Push N' Spun
06. We Lost
07. Autumn (Tape Interlude)
08. Puzzle (feat. Andreya Triana)
09. Bud
10. Don't Mean A Thing
11. 1004
12. Make Money
13. Funny Games

Brainfeeder release 'Lustmore' on April 6th 2015 (pre-order).