Kano, Moses Boyd and Charli XCX shortlisted for Mercury Prize 2020

The 12-strong list of nominations were announced this morning...


Words by: Felicity Martin

The full nominations for the 2020 Mercury Prize have been announced, with Kano, Moses Boyd and Charli XCX shortlisted.

Laura Marling, Georgia, Michael Kiwanuka and Stormzy were also nominated for the coveted ‘Album of the Year’ award, with the 12-strong shortlist announced on Lauren Laverne’s BBC6 Music show¬†this morning.

Kano’s ‘Hoodies All Summer’ album was our favourite full-length of 2019.

This year’s judging panel included Jorja Smith, Annie Mac, Gaz Coombes, Jamie Cullum and Anna Calvi, as well as music magazine editors and broadcasters.

Mercury Prize Chairman David Wilkinson said: “This has been a difficult and challenging year, so we are grateful to all the artists and labels that have supported the 2020 Hyundai Mercury Prize by entering their albums. Thanks also to the hardworking judges who have spent the last few months in lockdown listening to all the albums that were entered.”

Last year slowthai, Little Simz and IDLES were all nominated for the prize, with the winner, Dave, calling Boris Johnson “a real racist” at the 2019 awards ceremony during his performance of ‘Black’.

Full list of nominations:
Laura Marling – ‘Song For Our Daughter’
Dua Lipa – ‘Future Nostalgia’
Porridge Radio – ‘Every Bad’
Sports Team – ‘Deep Down Happy’
Kano – ‘Hoodies All Summer’
Anna Meredith – ‘FIBS’
Georgia – ‘Seeking Thrills’
Lanterns on the Lake – ‘Spook The Herd’
Moses Boyd – ‘Dark Matter’
Charli XCX – ‘how i’m feeling now’
Stormzy – ‘Heavy Is The Head’
Michael Kiwanuka – ‘Kiwanuka’

Submit your music Close