Honest Jon’s announce Shangaan Shake compilation

West London label to release compilation of the hyper-active South African dance music style refixed by the likes of Actress, Mark Ernestus and Hype Williams.


Words by: Anthony Walker

In 2010, label and record store Honest Jon’s helped to bring Shangaan to a wider audience with the release of ‘Shangaan Electro’ – a compilation documenting the style and sound of the South African genre based on electronic versions of traditional musical forms and lyrics ramped up to a rabid 180bpm tempo. The compilation was very popular and the label went on the commission some of the best and brightest acts in dance music today to tackle the originals in a series called Shangaan Meets….

These experiments were released as singles and EPs throughout the year but have now been compiled into a 2CD package entitled Shangaan Shake. The album features re-interpretations by a variety of contemporary producers, not least Chicago’s RP Boo, Actress and Berlin techno legend and project originator Mark Ernestus, whose stark and brooding take on BBC Version is an immediate stand-out. Given Shangaan’s idiosyncrasies and the varied cast the tracks are meant to act more like original compositions based on the template rather than straight-forward remixes and the series gives the artists plenty of room for freedom. A full run down of the artists involved and tracklist is available below:

1. Mark Ernestus Meets BBC
2. Oni Ayhun Meets Shangaan Electro
3. MMM Meets Tshetsha Boys
4. DJ Rashad & DJ Spinn Meet Tshetsha Boys
5. Burnt Friedman Meets Zinja Hlungwani
6. Actress Meets Shangaan Electro
7. Old Apparatus Meets Shangaan Electro
8. Theo Parrish Meets Mancingelani
9. Demdike Stare Meets Shangaan Electro
10. Peverelist Meets Tshetsha Boys
11. Anthony Shake Shakir Meets BBC
12. RP Boo Meets Shangaan Electro
13. Actress Meets Shangaan Electro 2
14. Hype Williams Meets Shangaan Electro
15. Ricardo Villalobos & Max Loderbauer Meet Shangaan Electro
16. Mark Ernestus Meets BBC Version

‘Shangaan Shake’ will be released on February 27th

Submit your music Close