Herbert – Stop

A slowburner with a big payoff from 'The Shakes', Matthew Herbert's first dance album in nine years.


Matthew Herbert is returning in June with new album 'The Shakes', his first full-length record of dance music in nine years. Every week between now and the album's release date, Herbert has been releasing a new music video from the album. 

Here we have Stop, which brings together a lot of Herbert's guises over the years: you get his sound experiments, his dance rhythms, his big band work, and his leftfield pop a la 'One One'. It's a slow burner, but its steady buildup pays off in a big way. Vocals come from Ade Omotayo, previously a backing singer with Amy Winehouse who you might've heard more recently on Kindness's album 'Otherness'.

To get to grips with Herbert's back catalogue, read Ben UFO's guide to his 10 best productions.

Herbert 'The Shakes' tracklist:

01. Battle
02. Middle
03. Strong
04. Smart
05. Stop
06. Ones
07. Bed
08. Know
09. Safety
10. Silence
11. Warm
12. Peak

Caroline International release 'The Shakes' on June 1st 2015 (pre-order).