GRM Rated Awards Return for 2021

Slowthai, Ghetts, Little Simz and Jorja Smith are among the nominees


Words by: Maisie Goulsbra

GRM have just unveiled the nominations for the 6th edition of The Rated Awards which will take place in September this year.

The black British music platform has been in motion since 2019: at the epicentre of UK rap and grime music culture, GRM Daily is known as a launchpad for up-and-coming artists, as well as a space for established names.

Ten awards will be handed out this year including ‘Video of the Year’, ‘Track of the Year’, and ‘Personality of the Year’, but the Breakthrough category is the most hotly contested, and it’s up for grabs with ArrDee, ENNY, Pa Salieu, Shaybo and Central Cee all nominated.

Founder Matt Thorne aka ‘Post’ says he is “Excited to be back celebrating the best in UK rap and grime music. It’s been an incredible year in music, congratulations to all of this year’s nominees.”

Among the list of other nominations are Slowthai, Ghetts and Abra Cadabra, Little Simz, Lady Leshurr, Jorja Smith and Stefflon Don.

AJ Tracey and Headie One are leading for the most nominations – they are put forward for ‘Male Artist’, ‘Track of the Year’, ‘Video of the Year’ and the prestigious ‘Album of the Year’ categories.

This year will air some iconic performances, like last year’s awards which included Kano, Dizzee Rascal, George The Poet and M Huncho. GRM will broadcast their annual event ceremony exclusively on the GRM Daily YouTube channel on Wednesday 16th September at 7pm BST.

Cast your vote for the 2021 Rated Awards here.

Full list of nominations below:

Album of the Year
AJ Tracey – Flu Game
Bugzy Malone – The Resurrection
D Block Europe – The Blueprint- Us Vs. Them
Fredo – Money Can’t Buy Happiness
Ghetts – Conflict of Interest
Headie One – EDNA
K Trap – Street Side Effects
Loski – Music, Trial and Trauma: A Drill Story
Nines – Crabs In A Bucket
Slowthai – TYRON

Female Artist of the Year
Bree Runway
Ivorian Doll
Jorja Smith
Lady Leshurr
Ms Banks
Stefflon Don
Midas The Jagaban

Male Artist of the Year
AJ Tracey
Abra Cadabra
Central Cee
Digga D
Headie One
Potter Payper
Tion Wayne

Breakthrough of the Year
Supported by 1Xtra
BackRoad Gee
Central Cee
French The Kid
Pa Salieu

Personality of the Year
Big Zuu
Harry Pinero
Nella Rose
Michael Dapaah
Mo Gilligan
Munya Chawawa
Niko Omilana
Yung Filly
ZeZe Mills

Track of the Year
A1 & J1 – Latest Trends
Abra Cadabra – On Deck
Central Cee – Loading
Digga D – Woi
ENNY – Peng Black Girls (ft Amia Brve)
Headie One, Stormzy and AJ Tracey – Ain’t It Different
Nines – Airplane Mode (ft NSG)
Pa Salieu – My Family (ft BackRoad Gee)
Potter Payper – Purpose
Russ & Tion Wayne – Body

Video of the Year
Aitch – Safe To Say
AJ Tracey – Little More Love
Ghetts – Skengman Mode (ft. Stormzy)
Headie One – Princess Cuts (ft. Young T & Bugsey)
Little Simz – Introvert
Meekz – Respect The Come Up
Nines – Clout
Pa Salieu – My Family (ft. BackRoad Gee)
Russ & Tion Wayne – Body
Slowthai, Skepta – Cancelled

Mixtape of the Year
In Accociation with Porte Noire
Abra Cadabra – Product of My Environment
Central Cee – Wild West
Chip – Snakes and Ladders
Digga D – Made In The Pyrex
Giggs – Now Or Never
M Huncho & Nafe Smallz – DNA
NSG – Roots
Pa Salieu – Send Them To Coventry
Potter Payper – Training Day 3
Unknown T – Rise Above Hate

Radio DJ of the Year
Charlie Sloth
DJ Target
Henrie Kwushue
Kenny Allstar
Robert Bruce
Reece Parkinson
Snoochie Shy
Tiffany Calver
Yinka & Shayna Marie

Producer of the Year
5ive Beatz
Chris Rich
5ive Beatz

Follow Dummy’s UK Rap, Drill and Grime Spotify playlist.

Submit your music Close