Final Kieran Hebden & Steve Reid live collaboration released

Four Tet and famous jazz drummer's final concert receives record.


Words by: Charlie Jones

Kieran Hebden (who also records under the name Four Tet) had a long-standing collaboration with jazz drummer Steve Reid, resulting in two patchy, occasionally touched by moments majesty, albums, ‘NYC’ and ‘Tongues’.

Fans of these, and improvisational music in general, will be happy to learn that their final concert before Reid’s death in 2010 is to be released by Smalltown Supersound’s jazz imprint, Smalltown Supersound. Taken from the pair’s 2009 Meltdown Festival appearance at London’s Southbank centre, it will be out next month.

Live at the South Bank tracklisting+
01. Morning Prayer

02. Lyman Place

03. People Be Happy

01. Untitled
02. 25th Street
03. The Sun Never Sets

Smalltown Superjazz will release Kieran Hebden and Steve Reid’s album Live at the South Bank on November 14th, 2011.

Submit your music Close