Django Django – Porpoise Song

Sparkling band to release their The Monkees cover, taken from their Late Night Tales compilation, for RSD.


Words by: Anthony Walker

London-via-Edinburgh band Django Django will release a limited single cover of the The Monkee's 1968 song Porpoise Song for Record Store Day this Saturday (April 19th).

Not only will it be released on the attractive 7" marbled vinyl pictured above and backed by an instrumental version, it's also taken from their upcoming addition to the Late Night Tales series – the only song by them on a typically eclectic tracklist (see below). Stream Django Django's cover on Porpoise Song here on Dummy and, if you like it, go out and buy it on Saturday.


01. Leo Kottke – The Tennessee Toad 
02. Gulp – Game Love 
03. Bob James – Nautilus 
04. James Last – Inner City Blues 
05. Map Of Africa – Bone 
06. Seals & Crofts – Get Closer 
07. Philip Glass – Floe 
08. The Millennium – To Claudia On Thursday 
09. The Beach Boys – Surf's Up 
10. Primal Scream – Carry Me Home 
11. Massive Attack – Man Next Door 
12. TNGHT – Bugg'n 
13. Outkast – Slum Beautiful 
14. Timmy Thomas – Why Can't We Live Together 
15. Roy Davis Jnr – Gabriel 
16. Harry Nilsson – Coconut 
17. Canned Heat – Poor Moon 
18. Ramadanman – Bass Drums 
19. Rick Miller – Future Directions 
20. Django Django – Porpoise Song (Exclusive The Monkees Cover Version)
21. Benedict Cumberbatch – Flat Of Angles Part 4 (Exclusive Spoken Word Piece)

Night Time Stories release 'Porpoise Song' on 19th April. 'Late Night Tales: Django Django' is out on 11th May 2013 (pre-order). 

Submit your music Close