DJ Rashad announces new album

'TEKLIFE Vol. 1: Welcome To The Chi', the new album from one of footwork's most soulful and innovative producers, will be out in June.


Words by: Charlie Jones

DJ Rashad, one of the most important producers of the current generation of Chicago juke / footwork producers, has announced the first album on the label he runs with fellow footworker Spinn and J-Cush, Lit City Trax. Titled ‘TEKLIFE Vol. 1: Welcome To The Chi’, the album is 20 tracks long and follows his first album “Just A Taste Vol 1’. It will be released on the 4th June 2012, and will contain the songs listed below. For a taste of what to expect, watch this lovely video of his track Ghost.

TEKLIFE Vol. 1: Welcome to the Chi tracklist:

01. Feelin’
02. Don’t Drop It
03. iPod
04. Bakk Off
05. We Trippy Mane (with DJ Spinn)
06. Trap Bakk (with DJ Spinn)
07. She Gonna Go
08. Fly Spray
09. Twitter
10. We Leanin’ (with DJ Spinn)
11. Da Life
12. Kush Ain’t Loud
13. Walk For Me
14. CCP
15. Chicago
16. Over Ya Head (with DJ Manny)
17. Well Well Well
18. Welcome to the Chi
19. Shoot Me
20. My Way Home

DJ Rashad to release inaugural Lit City album, TEKLIFE Vol. 1, on June 5