Dirty Projectors have announced details of new album ‘Swing Lo Magellan’

The Brooklyn group reference 15th century explorer on follow-up to 2009's 'Bitte Orca'.


Words by: Charlie Jones

Dirty Projectors have revealed the title of their new album, set for release through Domino on 9th July, as ‘Swing Lo Magellan’.

After posting the unexpectedly simple and gorgeous track Gun Has No Trigger (have a listen here) over the weekend, Dave Longstreth and his rotating cast of musicians declared that the new record would be “an album of songs, an album of songwriting”.

Dave Longstreth wrote and recorded the album with input from Amber Coffman, Haley Dekle, Nat Baldwin and Brian McOmber. Angel Deradoorian is currently on hiatus from the band.

The album’s tracklist looks like this:

1 Offspring Are Blank
2 About to Die
3 Gun Has No Trigger
4 Swing Lo Magellan
5 Just From Chevron
6 Dance For You
7 Maybe That Was It
8 Impregnable Question
9 See What She Seeing
10 The Socialites
11 Unto Caesar
12 Irresponsible Tune

Submit your music Close