David Lynch feat. Lykke Li – I’m Waiting Here

The famous director is releasing a new album; hear its wistful first single inside.


Words by: Aimee Cliff

Visionary director David Lynch has just announced that he’s releasing a new album this summer, following up 2011’s ‘Crazy Clown Time’. Due on the 15th July via Sunday Best, the new record is called ‘The Big Dream’, and features Lykke Li on the bonus cut I’m Waiting Here, which Spotify users can stream below.

Featuring Lykki Li’s characteristically nostalgic sound – as Lynch aptly puts it in the press release, she brings a “doo-wop” vibe to the track – the song is a meandering, soulful cut that builds painfully slowly, leaning on the dutifully repeated refrain of “I’ll wait right here” and featuring a schmaltzy Americana-esque monologue in the middle.

The album will contain 11 new tracks, plus a cover of Bob Dylan’s The Ballad of Hollis Brown, with I’m Waiting Here (plus an etching from Lynch’s own hand on the B-side) available on a bonus 7” for those who buy the vinyl edition. See the tracklist and artwork below.

1. The Big Dream
2. Star Dream Girl
3. Last Call
4. Cold Wind Blowin
5. The Ballad of Hollis Brown (Bob Dylan cover)
6. Wishin’ Well
7. Say It
8. We Rolled Together
9. Sun Can’t Be Seen No More
10. I Want You
11. The Line It Curves
12. Are You Sure
13. I’m Waiting Here [ft. Lykke Li] (bonus track)

Sunday Best will release ‘The Big Dream’ on the 15th July in Europe; Sacred Bones will release it on the 16th July in the US.