Dave, Central Cee, Little Simz and Stormzy won big at the GRM Rated Awards 2022

The ceremony will be broadcast on E4 on Tuesday October 25 at 10pm BST...


Photos by: Stoked PR (Shot by Nee)

Words by: Billy Ward

Celebrating the best of black British music, the GRM Rated Awards returned over the weekend for a star-studded live event in central London.

Dave took home the Male Artist of the Year and prestigious Album of the Year awards for ‘We’re All Alone In This Together’. He told the ceremony in London on Sunday: “Appreciate the love. Big up GRM, big up everyone who made this year possible. It’s been a big year for a lot of musicians and everyone’s done a lot to really push the scene forward.”

The Streatham rapper won 4 awards in total across the evening, including Track of the Year and Video of the Year with his Stormzy collaboration ‘Clash’.

Central Cee took home the Mixtape of the Year award while recent Mercury Prize winner Little Simz won Female Artist of the Year for her critically acclaimed project ‘Sometimes I Might Be Introvert’. The album also came in at no.1 spot in Dummy’s 25 Best Albums of 2021 list.

Performance highlights from the night included a powerful performance of ‘Nice & Good’ by Knucks and SL, as well as a collaboration between Ms Banks, Ivorian Doll and Dreya Mac, who teamed up for a remix of ‘Baddie’ featuring Felix the 1st. Brighton rapper ArrDee also pulled through with a mash up performance of ‘Flowers (Say My Name)’, alongside an exclusive performance of ‘Body Remix’ with Tion Wayne and Russ Millions.

Hosted by Big Zuu and Julie Adenuga, and featuring guest presenters Munya Chawawa, Tiffany Calver, Adeola Patronne, Mariam Musa, Nella Rose, Snoochie Shy and Zeze Millz; the 2022 Rated Awards will be broadcast exclusively on E4 on Tuesday October 25 at 10pm BST.

Check out the full list of nominations and winners below:

Breakthrough of the Year

A1 x J1 (WINNER)
Dreya Mac

Female Artist of the Year

Little Simz (WINNER)
Cleo Sol
Dreya Mac
Ivorian Doll
Miraa May
Ms Banks
Stefflon Don

Male Artist of the Year

Central Cee
D-Block Europe
M Huncho
Potter Payper
Russ Millions
Tion Wayne

Mixtape of the Year

Central Cee – 23 (WINNER)
ArrDee – Pier Pressure
D-Block Europe – Home Alone 2
Digga D – Noughty By Nature
K-Trap – Trapo
K-Trap & Blade Brown – Joints
M1llionz – Provisional License
Potter Payper – Thanks For Waiting
Unknown T – Adolescence
Youngs Teflon – All Eyes On Me Against The World

Personality of the Year

Big Zuu
Harry Pinero
Mo Gilligan
Munya Chawawa
Specs Gonzalez
Yung Filly
Zeze Millz

Producer of the Year

LiTek & WhyJay
Quincy Tellem
Young Chencs

Radio DJ of the Year

Kenny Allstar (WINNER)
DJ Target
Henrie Kwushue
Manny Norte
Rob Bruce
Sir Spyro
Snoochie Shy
Tiffany Calver
Yinka & Shayna Marie

Track of the Year

Dave – Clash (feat. Stormzy) (WINNER)
Aitch – Baby (feat. Ashanti)
ArrDee – Flowers (Say My Name)
Benzz – Je M’appelle
Central Cee – Obsessed With You
D-Block Europe – Overseas (feat. Central Cee)
Dave – Starlight
Potter Payper – Gangsteritus
Russ Millions – Reggae & Calypso (feat. Buni & YV)
SwitchOTR – Coming For You (feat. A1 x J1)

Video of the Year

Dave – Clash (feat. Stormzy) (WINNER)
Aitch – 1989
Aitch – Learning Curve
CASisDEAD – Boys Will Be Boys
Dave – Verdansk
Knucks – Alpha House / Hide & Seek
Little Simz – Point And Kill (feat. Obongjayar)
M Huncho – Warzone (feat. Headie One)
Pa Salieu – Glidin’ (feat. slowthai)
Stefflon Don & Ms Banks – Dip

Read next: AJ Tracey launches initiative to support Black students at Oxford University

Submit your music Close