Cold Cave announce second album ‘Cherish The Light Years’

The New York based experimental synth-pop group unveil details on their second album.


Words by: Charlie Jones

Following up their highly praised 2009 release ‘Love Comes Close’, Cold Cave return with a record entitled ‘Cherish The Light Years’ full of tour de force of pounding synths and soaring romantic melody. Recorded in New York City, bandleader Wesley Eisolde from Philadelphia progressively takes the troupe’s synth worlds to his adopted city in the form of a ‘massive, ambitious love letter’. Long-term associates Dominick Fernow contributes on electronics and Jennifer on backing vocal and synthesizer; Nick Zinner from Yeah Yeah Yeahs contributes on guitars.

Similar to the Death Comes Close single release, there will be a limited edition test press on ‘Cherish The Light Years’ with hand made covers of 123 vinyl copies designed by the band to be pre-ordered online.

Cold Cave also announce an extensive spring tour in April and May, including Coachella Festival, both headlining and supporting The Kills.

Tracklist is as follows:

1. The Great Pan Is Dead
2. Pacing Around The Church
3. Confetti
4. Catacombs
5. Underworld USA
6. Icons Of Summer
7. Alchemy And You
8. Burning Sage
9. Villains Of The Moon

Matador will release Cold Cave’s ‘Cherish The Light Years’ on 4th April, 2011.