Carl Craig Planet E turns 20

Techno pioneer Carl Craig dedicates the year in celebrating his label’s 20th anniversary, starting with a special digital compilation due out in February.


Words by: Charlie Jones

Essentially a best-of compilation, ‘F@#&ING Years – We Ain’t Dead Yet’ features tracks from throughout Planet E’s 20 year history and includes cuts from Moodyman, Gemini, Quadrant, Basic Channel, as well as Kenny Larkin’s You Are, which is previously unreleased. The compilation will be released as a vinyl boxset in June, with a tracklist to be decided by fans in an online poll, details for which will be announced soon.

The next sequence of birthday celebration will be a package of vinyl and digital re-releases from the label and Carl Craig back catalogue in March. Artists will each choose their favourite Planet E track, with their own remixes to be included on the B-side. Contributing acts include Luciano, Ricardo Villalobos, Dubfire, Richie Hawtin, Loco Dice, Seth Troxler, Francois K, and Kevin Saunderson. First up, Luciano remixes Recloose’s Can’t Take It.

In 2001, Planet E turned 10 with a celebration at the Detroit Electronic Music Festival; this year, Carl Craig goes international and plans the first ever Planet E world tour. Showcases will be held at District 36 in New York, Ewer Street Car Park in London, and Berghain in Berlin while other parties and performances will take place around the world including Japan, Australia, South America and more. Guests joining forces are Luciano, Ricardo Villalobos, Dubfire, Sven Vath, Richie Hawtin, Loco Dice, Seth Troxler, Psycatron, Paul Woolford, Radio Slave, Chris Liebing, Moritz von Oswald trio, and many others.

Tracklist for ‘F@#&ING Years – We Ain’t Dead Yet’:

01. Moodymann – Dem Young Sconies
02. Attias – Analysis
03. Martin Buttrich – Full Clip
04. Lazy Fat People – Club Silencio
05. Recloose feat. Dwele – Cant Take It
06. Quadrant – Hyperprism
07. Jona – Altiplano
08. Gemini – A Moment of Insanity
09. Paperclip People – Clear & Present
10. Urban Tribe – Covert Action
11. Balil – Nort Route
12. 69 – Jam The Box
13. 4th Wave – Electroluv
14. Innerzone Orchestra – Bug in the Bassbin
15. Urban Tribe – Repeating Decimal
16. Future/Past – Clinically Inclined
17. Flexitone – Pulse of Revolution
18. Carl Craig – Dominas
19. Niko Marks – Chune
20. Naomi Daniel – Stars (DJ Dos Mix 2)
21. Tres Demented – Demented or Just Crazy
22. Ican – Pa Mi Gente
23. Tres Demented – Shez Satan
24. Kenny Larkin – You Are (C2 Remix)
25. Tribe – Living in a New Day (C2 Remix)