Arca, 100 gecs, Blood Orange, Kenny Beats and more feature on PLZ Make It Ruins’ charity loop compilation

Each track on the record is exactly 1.8 seconds long


Words by: Billy Ward

PLZ Make It Ruins, the London based label run by Veygn, has announced a charity compilation album with a twist ‘Locked Grooves’ .

The project will feature contributions from the likes of Blood Orange, Arca, Dijon, Clairo, 100 gecs, Kenny Beats, Dominic Fike, Four Tet, Floating Points, Mura Masa, King Krule, Shygirl and lots more.

Partnering up with Arts Council England for the release, each track on the record is exactly 1.8 seconds long and has been crafted with the intention of being looped repeatedly, creating a uniquely hypnotic rhythm.

The album takes inspiration from the practice of locked grooves: an abstract loop intentionally placed at the end of a record which helps DJs to seamlessly blend tracks after the song’s final moments. Throughout the project, the featured artists give their own takes on the formula with a host of different sounds and atmospheres.

All net proceeds from the album will be split between ACLU and Liberty UK, two charities dedicated to challenging injustices and preserving human rights in both the US and the UK.

Releasing exclusively on vinyl, the project will launch with a one-off NTS special on December 4, hosted by Vegyn, that explores the music of all the project’s contributors, as well as including a mix created from all 40 loops on the project.

Stream loops from 100 gecs, Octo Octa & Romil Hemnani here. Pre-order the vinyl and see the complete track-list here.

Listen to a Dummy Mix by Yawning Portal, a new band signed to Vegyn’s PLZ Make It Ruins.

Read next: Rare music prints are being sold to fund music production crews affected by pandemic

Submit your music Close