Actress to mix the next DJ-KiCKS compilation

Actress's edition features tracks by Gherkin Jerks, Autechre, Lorenzo Senni, and an exclusive from the man himself.


Actress is the next in line to mix the brilliant DJ-Kicks series.

Having already put out a mix from Nina Kraviz earlier this year, the latest DJ-Kicks mix – the 49th in the series – is an hour-long set from the innovating producer and Werkdiscs honch.

"When I’m selecting music I’m not always thinking about the music alone," Darren Cunningham, aka Actress, explains in a press release, "I’m thinking about the names of the artists, tracks, and labels, and what they mean to me. I often base my tracklisting purely on how well the track titles work together in a poetic sense."

"I’ve tried to keep space between tracks, allowing them to speak," he continues. "I tried not to force BPM shifts and to let the programming remain choppy and quick."

As is DJ-Kicks tradition, there's also an original track by Actress – Bird Matrix, recorded just after he finished his last album, 'Ghettoville'. "My studio was going through a transition, so I was testing all the equipment, and that was one of the first tunes that came out of those experiments," Cunningham explains.

Actress 'DJ-Kicks' tracklist:

01. Breaker 1 2 2
02. Lorenzo Senni Elegant, and Never Tiring
03. Reel by Real Look At Me
04. Autechre Pen Expers
05. Chameleon Thought 2
06. Beneath Stress 1
07. Simbiosi Impari
08. Zennor Tin
09. John Beltran Anticipation
10. Moon B Those Moments
11. STL Psychelicious
12. Snakepiss Toil
13. Shit and Shine Pearl Drop
14. Chez n Trent Windy City Club
15. Mark Fell Section 1-7
16. GNESIS Pear
17. Shxcxchcxsh LDWGWTT
18. Hank Jackson Track 3
19. Actress Bird Matrix (DJ-Kicks)
20. Gherkin Jerks Red Planet 

!K7 release 'DJ-Kicks: Actress' on May 4th 2015.

Submit your music Close