The otherworldliness of O Future’s five-track EP, ‘Maculate’

The pair have worked with Ai Weiwei, scored for The Royal Danish Theatre, and claim film credits including on Lars von Trier's 'Melancholia'

30.09.21, Words by: Maisie Goulsbra

Art and music collective, O Future, just dropped their hauntingly alluring EP, ‘Maculate’ – five tracks of vocal ghostliness and otherworldly sound design. The duo consists of vocalist Katherine Mills Rymer, originally from South Africa, and Jens Bjornkjaer from Denmark. The pair have worked with Ai Weiwei for ‘Vivos’, scored for The Royal Danish Theatre, and claim film credits including on Lars von Trier’s ‘Melancholia’. They self direct all of their own visual material, have composed four algorithmic operas and are currently working on a violin concerto.

Their last release and lead track on the ‘Maculate’ EP is an ethereal remix of Chris Isaac’s ‘Wicked Game‘, followed by ‘Bruise‘, a track made up of reverb-shrouded organ piano, and a moody drum beat, with it’s own music video that uses digital effects to depict surrealist and hypnotic visuals. The vocal line in ‘Horrify You’ envelopes a spooky melody in charming attractiveness, before ‘For Fantasy’ plunges listeners to new depths, maintaining a sense of contradiction – this time with melancholic synths beside a short dance-worthy section. Finally, ‘Feel Me Slow’ leads out with a sense of encompassing fullness. ‘Maculate’ EP sits in line with O Future’s consistent pioneering new sound and artistic vision.

It is out now on StudiOfuture via DMY.

Watch the music video for ‘Bruise’ below or listen on your preferred streaming service here.

For more of the absolute best new music find Dummy on Spotify and follow Next Hype: The Best New Music.

Submit your music Close