Nicolas Jaar’s BBC Essential Mix


Beginning with Angelo Badalamenti describing the creative pinprick that produced the gloriously macabre Twin Peaks theme, Nicolas Jaar pulls no punches on his dancefloor-averse Essential Mix for Radio 1. The Ivy League student behind last year’s massively acclaimed ‘Space Is Only Noise’ LP draws on a dizzyingly broad variety of music, from a snippet of Jay-Z to Jonny Greenwood’s soundtrack for There Will Be Blood.

Also featured are composer Shigeru Umebayasi (the man behind the music to Hong Kong love film In The Mood For Love), Smog’s Bill Callahan and nearly 10 minutes of plaintive solo piano from Keith Jarrett – a brave choice for weekend peak time, surely. Elsewhere you can hear a few selections from Jaar’s Clown & Sunset label, like the mysterious Nikita Quasim and Pavla + Noura, and burst of N*SYNC. You have been warned.

The mix is now up on Soundcloud and you can look at the tracklisting below.

Nicolas Jaar & Maceo Plex – Gravy Train (Nicolas Jaar Remix) [Get Physical Music]
Nicolas Jaar – Space Is Only Noise [Clown & Sunset]
Laxx & Farkas – Creature
Nicolas Jaar – Don’t Break My Love [Clown & Sunset]
Angelo Badalamenti – Conversation On Twin Peaks [Warner Bros]
The Brothers Four – Greenfields [Columbia]
Jay-Z – My First Song (Acapella) [Roc-A- Fella]
Jonny Greenwood – There Will Be Blood [NONESUCH]
Los Ángeles Negros – Tu Y Tu Mirar… Yo Y Mi Cancion [Harmless]
LaShun Pace – It’s Me Oh Lord (Acapella Praise) [Shanachie]
Jonny Greenwood – Open Spaces [NONESUCH]
Pearson Sound – Footloose [Pearson Sound]
The Electric Prunes – Holy Are You (There Is No God Edit) [Reprise]
Aphex Twin – Ziggomatic 17 [WARP]
Keith Jarrett – Tokyo, November 14 (Encore) [ECM Records]
My Girl And Me – Always Back To You (feat. Lorraine) [Unknown]
Vera November – Last Night Together (You’re Coming Back Edit) [Rough Trade]
Nikita Quasim – L’amour L’après Midi [Clown and Sunset]
Nikita Quasim – The Way I Felt Today [Clown and Sunset]
Feist – Caught A Long Wind [Polydor]
Shigeru Umebayashi – Yumeji’s Theme [In The Mood For Love OST, Higher Octave OmTown]
*NSYNC – It Makes Me Ill (Edit) [JIVE]
Unknown – Unknown
Charles Mingus – Myself When I’m Real [IMPULSE]
Bill Callahan – America! [DRAG CITY]
The Field – The Little Heart Beats So Fast [Kompakt]
Sneaky Sound System – Always By Your Side (Nicolas Jaar Remix) [Modular]
Just Friends – Avalanche [Unknown]
Pavla + Noura – Don’t Owe Me A Thing [The Prism, Clown and Sunset]
Acid Pauli – La Voz Tan Tierna [Clown and Sunset]
Igor Wakhevitch – Taddy’s Dream: Ramallah’s Road [Pathé Marconi EMI]
Nikita Quasim – Derridu [Unknown]
Beyoncé Knowles – 1+1 [Columbia]
Anouar Brahem – Vague / E La Nave Va [ECM]
Rio Grande – Let’s Groove (Tonight Edit) [Unknown]
Gonzales – Manifesto [Sunnyside]
The Grass Roots – Let’s Live For Today (Learn To Live Edit) [Dunhill]
Marvin Gaye – Inner City Blues (Sk Edit) [TAMLA]
Man Friday – Real Love (The Paradise Garage Mix) (feat. Larry Levan) [Nite Grooves]
Shigeru Umebayashi– What That Do [Subterranean Playhouse]
Ricardo Villalobos – What You Say Is More Than I Can Say [Playhouse]
Untitled – Untitled [Unknown]
Nicolas Jaar – The Student [Wolf & Lamb]

Submit your music Close