Darkstar release new mixtape, featuring Gwilym Gold, Hayden Thorpe, Zomby and more

The nine-track 'Kirklees Arcadia' mixtape sees Darkstar return to their original incarnation as a duo and precedes their third album.


After the departure of singer James Buttery last year, Darkstar have returned to their original incarnation as a two-piece and released a new mixtape called 'Kirklees Arcadia'.

For the mixtape, Aidan Whalley and James Young invited a couple of friends in to flesh out their compositions: Gwilym Gold turns up twice, Wild Beasts singer Hayden Thorpe fills in vocals on a brilliant cover of Paul McCartney's eternally bizarre proto-techno song Temporary Secretary, and old friend Zomby offers assistance on Quandry.

Elsewhere, you'll find a remix of LFO's We Are Back in tribute to the late Mark Bell, and a re-edit of their modern classic Aidy's Girl's A Computer.

"'Kirklees Arcadia' is a collection inspired by our frequent visits to West Yorkshire over the last 12 months in the process of realizing the third Darkstar record," the band say of the mixtape. We're excited to hear album #3 when it comes out.

Listen to 'Kirklees Arcadia' below, and download it here.

Darkstar 'Kirklees Arcadia' tracklist:

01. Darkstar Waspz (feat. Gwilym Gold)
02. Darkstar Harmonic Emotion
03. Darkstar Aidy's Girl Is A Computer (Re-Edit)
04. LFO We Are Back (Darkstar remix)
05. Darkstar Temporary Secretary (feat. Hayden Thorpe)
06. Darkstar Earz
07. Darkstar Hartz (feat. Gwilym Gold) 
08. Darkstar Nosferaweks
09. Darkstar & Zomby Quandry